A WORD FOR THE SINGLES AND UNMARRIED….

From Tim Dilena Facebook status

A WORD FOR THE SINGLES AND UNMARRIED….

No one can have a happy marriage
until you are a satisfied single

Singleness is not a condition to be fixed by marriage
In fact, it can never be fixed by just any person. Singleness makes sense when there is an understanding of “what to do” while single.

I Cor 7:35 says it this way about singleness and it’s purpose….
35 This I say for your own benefit; not to put a restraint upon you, but to promote what is appropriate and to secure undistracted devotion to the Lord.

The Grand Purpose of singleness is to secure devotion to Jesus. When the master pursuit of singleness is a mate and not Jesus….then you will have unfulfilled single people that will use any means to find that mate and then we get bad marriages.

Singles…..secure undistracted devotion to Jesus.
That is the best preparation for marriage.

What about internet dating?
I think the danger is in cheating
It’s bypassing the undistracted devotion element thinking I need someone now when the Person you need now is not human but Supernatural.
I have NEVER seen anyone who is satisfied with singleness because they are passionately in love with Jesus resort to that medium.
At least I haven’t
It is usually those who are tired of waiting and have announced the excuse “I’m getting older” or “there is no one in the church” that start on this medium.

Why do we doubt the word and what it says about singleness?Paul says if you have the chance to remain single….DO IT. You will be happier!
What?
I Cor 7:40 “But in my opinion she is happier if she remains as she is, and I think that I also have the Spirit of God”

You don’t hear that too often.
More happy single than married?
That is the Bible.
Paul says if you have the chance to marry or stay single …..stay single if you are actively pursuing a passionate love relationship with God.
That is the secret of the satisfied single person.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: A WORD FOR THE SINGLES AND UNMARRIED…. « Just Passing … | My Dating Website

  2. Elesse

    That’s a message that needs to be preached more often to singles in the church. Thanks for posting 🙂

  3. Jack

    All right. I am gonna be honest: I can’t get exempted from the truth of the Bible which says I Cor 7:40 “But in my opinion she is happier if she remains as she is, and I think that I also have the Spirit of God”.
    Praise God for that, indeed!!! But that’not my “cup of tea”.
    As a “old young” single christian I am realizing that it’s better to get married than to burn with passion (1 Cor 7:9). What I mean is not to be eager of sexual relationship just expressing your desire to have a family, the joy to be a parent and to spend time (especially christian times) with the person who you love more.
    I think God has created the human being to give him the opportunity of knowing his Creator but as a human I think to be a citizen of the this life: being a family person as well.
    So it is just and honorable to stay single but it is honorable as well to live a christian life having a family of his own.

Leave a Reply

